How to Use Delete for Everyone Feature on WhatsApp
How to Use Delete for Everyone Feature on WhatsApp

After months of preparation, WhatsApp has finally rolled out the feature you’ve been eagerly waiting for. Dubbed as Delete for Everyone, the feature lets you delete embarrassing text messages before the intended recipient read them. It can prove as a day saver in situations when you’ve accidentally sent a message to someone who was not supposed to receive it.

Whatsapp’s new Delete for Everyone feature not only allows you to recall sent messages on individual chats, but you can also delete mistakenly sent messages from group chats. It’s available on different platforms such as Android, iOS, and Windows Phone.

The Facebook-owned messaging service confirms the messages that have been successfully deleted for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats. You’ll probably be wondering that how to get and use Delete for Everyone feature on WhatsApp, right? Well, the process is as easy as pie. In this how-to article, we’ve listed the steps regarding how to delete wrongly sent messages on WhatsApp. Read on.

Use Delete for Everyone Feature on WhatsApp

  1. Make sure you have the latest version of WhatsApp on your phone. The recipient must also have the latest version installed for the Delete for Everyone feature to work
  2. Select the messages you want to delete
  3. Tap on the delete/trash icon at the top of the screen
  4. Now, a dialogue box will appear. You need to tap on the Delete for Everyone option

Use Delete for Everyone Feature on WhatsApp

Once done, the sent message will be replaced with ‘You deleted this message’. Remember that the feature will not work if the recipient is not on the latest WhatsApp version. In this case, the recipient may see the message before it’s deleted.

Read more at How to backup and restore WhatsApp messages with Google Drive

However, it’s a time-sensitive feature meaning that the message can only be deleted within 7 minutes after being sent. And once those 7 minutes have passed, there’s no way to delete messages for everyone.

You can use this feature on all types of messages, be it a text message, photo, GIF, video or a contact. In case you’re one of those folks who’s in the habit of sending broadcast messages and quoted texts, (alas!) you’re deprived of using this feature. Interestingly, some vague reports indicate that WhatsApp is also working on a feature that lets you edit sent text messages as well.

In addition to Delete for Everyone, WhatsApp has renamed the regular delete option, calling it Delete for Me. As before, this feature lets you delete the message you’ve sent or received. However, this will have no effect on the recipients’ chats.

In order to delete messages for yourself, tap and hold the message you want to delete. Then, tap on the trash icon at the top of the screen and select the Delete for Me option.

You may also like: How to send GIF on WhatsApp

Summary
Article Name
How to Use Delete for Everyone Feature on WhatsApp
Description
Dubbed as Delete for Everyone, the feature lets you delete embarrassing text messages before the intended recipient read them.
Author
Publisher Name
SoftwareVilla
Publisher Logo