Clear All Data from Your Android
How to Securely Clear All Data from Your Android Device

Want to clear all data from your Android phone? Maybe you are going to sell it or simply giving it to someone. Whatever the reason, you want to make sure all your confidential data is completely deleted. Although performing a factory reset is a good idea, it may not always be enough.

Much of your private data will continue to exist even after getting your device back to factory settings, but it will pretty much be hidden. And there are numerous tools that would let any new owner or cyber terrorist to easily access your important information. Here, we’ll show you how to clear all data from your Android device to make sure all your sensitive data is safe from sneaky hackers. Let’s get started.

Clear All Data from Your Android Device

  1. microSD Card

If your old Android device has a microSD card, you can simply insert it in your new phone and continue accessing your data such as photos, videos, etc. But what if your new phone doesn’t have a microSD card slot or you don’t want to carry forward the card for some reason? Well, in such case, you’ll require to delete all the data on the card by formatting it. First of all, back up all your photos and videos. Afterward, follow the steps below to securely delete photos from Android phone:

  1. Connect your Android phone to a computer via a USB cable. In case you’re on a Mac, ensure that you have the Android File Transfer application installed before getting started with the process
  2. Open the My Computer folder on your Windows PC or Finder on your Mac
  3. Navigate to the SD card section and copy all the files you want to save to your system
  4. Once done, unplug your phone

Clear All Data from Your Android Device - microSD card

Now, you can format your SD card. To do so:

  1. Navigate to the Settings > Storage section on your phone
  2. Scroll down to the bottom and tap on the Erase SD card option
  3. A pop-up message will arise telling you that you’ll lose all the data on the card. Just tap on the Erase SD card button to continue. In case your SD card is secured with a password, you’ll require to enter the PIN to continue

Read more at How to Back Up SMS Messages on Android Phone

  1. Back up Your Android Data

Clear All Data from Your Android Device - back up phone

The most important thing to do is to make sure that you don’t lose any of your contacts or photos. For this purpose, properly back up your Android phone. All you need is a Google account to set up your phone and it then automatically backs up your device.

If you’re unfamiliar with the backup process, navigate to the How to back up your Android phone to keep data safe post.

  1. Delete Everything

Clear All Data from Your Android Device - Encrypt phone

So, you have properly backed up your Android phone. Now, you’re all set to delete everything from your device. Here’s how to do so.

  1. Navigate to the Settings > Security section and tap on the Encrypt phone option. This usually takes a while, so you need to connect your phone to the charger to proceed
  2. Tap on the Encrypt phone option again to continue. Some users have noted that at times this doesn’t work immediately and you might need to try it a few times
  3. Once done, reset your Android device by navigating to the Settings > Backup & Reset section. On the ensuing screen, tick the box marked Erase phone data
  4. A warning message will pop up. Simply tap on the Reset phone option to continue
  5. This process may take a few minutes and your device should reboot to the state that it shipped in, prompting you to select language and sign-in all over again

Now, all your data is successfully deleted from the phone.

  1. Restore Your Files on Another Phone

Once you securely clear all data from your Android phone, you can easily restore it on another phone. On the new Android device, sign in with the same Google account to carry over your contacts and other data, and transfer all files from your computer using the USB cable in the same way that you copied them to computer from your phone.

If you’re transferring data from Android to iPhone, you can still sync your Google account to move your contacts and calendar, while you can use iTunes to move the backed up media files.

You may also like: How to Schedule Text Messages on Android and iOS

Summary
How to Securely Clear All Data from Your Android Device
Article Name
How to Securely Clear All Data from Your Android Device
Description
Want to clear all data from your Android phone? If yes, just go through our full post to know how to do so. Click/tap on the link.
Author
Publisher Name
SoftwareVilla
Publisher Logo