Let us assume a situation! You have a Google account which you created a long time ago and haven’t used for years. You no longer remember anything, neither username nor password. In such case, you’re left with no other option than to delete your Gmail or Google account.
Thankfully, it’s much easier to delete your Gmail or Google Account. You just need to follow some simple steps mentioned below. Let’s get started:
Permanently delete your Gmail or Google account in simple steps
Before you proceed further: Backup your emails and other data
First of all, you need to keep one thing in mind, once you delete your Gmail account, emails, and other data will be deleted too, forever. You can never recover it back, no matter which technique you use. So, it’s always advised backup your data, so that you can access it later.
Thankfully, there is a tool called Google Takeout, you can use for this purpose. Here’s what you need to do:
- Navigate to official site of Google Takeout
- Select the data you want to backup
- Create an Archive of the backed up data
The archiving process will take few hours. So, you may need to wait till the process ends.
Once the archive (.zip) file is created, you can download on your computer and access anytime later.
Deleting your Account
Go to Google’s official preferences page. Here’s you’ll see options: delete products, or delete Google account and data.
Click on the first option, will delete specific services like Gmail. You can use it to delete all your emails and email addresses. However, the rest of the account will keep running.
The second option will let you delete everything your Google account does, including your emails, YouTube uploads, documents and Google Drive backup.
You can any option you find suitable based on your needs and requirements.
Deleting only your Gmail account
When you click on the first option i.e. delete products, you’ll see a list of Google services you use. From here, you can choose to delete products you don’t want to use anymore by clicking on the trash icon next to them.
Step 1. If you want to delete your Gmail account, just click on the trash icon in front of it.
Here’s what deleting your Gmail account means:
- Neither you nor anyone can use your Gmail account
- Your emails will be deleted
This will not delete your Google Account, your search history, and other details. However, you’ll be asked to add another email account to continue using services.
Step 2. After this, you’ll need to enter your current primary email account (not the one you’re deleting).
Step 3. Click Send verification Email and open the email account you had entered. Here you’ll find a mail that looks something like this:
Step 4. Scroll down and click the link! You’ll be navigated to another page, where you can confirm your action one more time.
Step 5. Click on the Delete Gmail option and proceed further.
Once you do this, you Gmail account will be officially deleted! And a confirmation message will appear in front of you. You can still log into your other accounts, but you’ll need to provide a new email address to continue using the service.
Delete your entire Google Account
You can also delete your entire Google account if you want to. This will delete everything: your emails, your contacts, your Google Drive files, and your YouTube files.
The process is rather simple. Here is what you need to do:
Step 1. You’ll be asked to choose what you want to do. Check the boxes carefully and click Delete Account
Step 2. A message will appear in front of you confirming that your account is deleted
That’s it! You have successfully come across on how to delete your Gmail and Google accounts. Stay tuned for more updates!
In case you’ve any suggestions on how to delete your Gmail or Google account, please let us know in comments. We’ll be pleased to hear them. Enjoy!
Read More: 20 hidden features of Gmail